Embrace Your Inner Stupidity

Courtesy of http://socialmediamarketingmadeeasy.co.nz/

It’s funny how things can turn for better or worse in the matter of weeks. Luckily, in my case, things are looking a lot better.

As of lately, opportunities have been coming my way. Last month I found out that I would be a part of The Huffington Post’s “Off The Bus” convention team. I and seven other contestants were chosen to cover the RNC and DNC this year. Personally, I will be covering the RNC, but with Hurricane Isaac picking up steam, I’m not sure if the trip will be cancelled or postponed. I’m hoping the convention will go on and that we will only have to deal with bad weather. Unfortunately, if postponed, I will not be able to cover the conventions because of a new job waiting for me in CA.

Two days ago, I was picked to be a panelist for The Huffington Post’s new endeavor Huffington Post Live 3…2…1. I was selected to discuss a topic I was interested in with three other panelists. I chose to talk about a blog post from John W. Whitehead about the collusion between corporations and the government to spy on Americans. It’s really quite frightening to think that cell phone carriers receive hundreds of requests from the government to obtain the private information stored on our cell phones — and they do all of this without the need for warrants as long as they call it an “emergency.”

*You can see my segment here.

To be candid, I was pretty nervous knowing that I was on the Internet with millions watching, but then I began to relax once I realized that nobody would probably see this segment.

The host, Ahmed Shihab-Eldin, was great at facilitating the discussion, keeping it light and encouraging all of us to loosen up and just speak from what we knew. After all, most of the panelists were not experts, but that is exactly how the “Community Sound Off” segment is supposed to be.

*Here’s a great speech (a 15 min. video) by the host, Ahmed Shihab-Eldin, on social media, Arab uprisings and the future of journalism.

Associate producer Milos Balac also did a great job putting everything together and making sure we had a good time. Luckily, the people watching enjoyed the panel and the HuffPo crew has asked us to come back in the future.

Between packing for CA and FL, bidding farewells to my family and friends and sending out “thank you” emails to the many people who helped me get to this point, I have been exhausted; I have been running on fumes and pure excitement of the future. This is a stark contrast from how my life was about a month ago.

I wanted to write this post to give a little hope to those that feel like things aren’t working out the way they planned. My advice to those people would be to take chance, don’t miss any opportunity, pay attention, meet new people and don’t be afraid to surround yourself with people who are smarter than you. And above all, don’t be afraid to be stupid because at some point we all will be — embrace your inner stupidity.

Leave a Reply

