Letting Go

Spiral Galaxy

Been listening to a lot of Kid Cudi recently and I think I’m going to take some of his advice and just let things “just happen” a bit more. The only thing I worry about is if I do that, I’ll lose all my ability to be objective and I might start taking things for granted.

I’ve been seeing a lot of “signs” recently and I’m going to follow them. It could be the universe hinting at my path. You know, when the End of Days come, there’s nothing anyone can do to change that. There are more powerful forces in the universe. In the end, Mother Nature will always rule. It’s time for some of us to start letting go of our petty attachments (mentally and physically). Desire, obsession, and attachment to people and possessions leave room for pain and suffering. I refuse to suffer while I spend my time on Earth.

On that note, I’ve realized that the human condition cannot be changed. What I’m going to do now is get my life together. I’m going to focus on me. Looking back at how influenced I was by outside opinions, I’m going to learn from that and do what I feel. As long as it’s not hurting anyone and I feel it’s the right thing to do, I’m going with it. If I like it, I’m going to do it.

I’m young. I need to become stable. I don’t need to worry about things that are truly out of my control, but it’s tough. Everyone wants to rule the world and have a world where their rules dictate, but that’s what makes this world we live in so hectic. We need to reject that impulse and let others live their lives. Most importantly, we need to live our own lives and stop worrying about other people. Stop trying to change people into the people you want them to be and accept them for who they are.

There really are people trying to do good in the world. Politicians, humane societies, entrepreneurs, media personnel and companies, the Red Cross, and humanitarians are all doing their best to make the world better for more people while using their enveloping influence for positive. Everyday they do what they feel is right. Most notably, these people do what’s in their hearts and reject an outsider’s influence on their path.

Listening to what other people have to say will make you go insane. People are always going to yap. Really, you are the ruler of your life. How are you going to allow someone to dictate how you feel about yourself? That’s like welcoming someone onto your lawn to come and vandalize your property. It’s your fault because you let that person affect you.

From now on, I’m keeping my friends close and my enemies closer. I’ve learned that the Devil (whatever that may be) comes when you least expect. He tries to get a hold of you when your guard is down. I think he comes disguised as friends more often than not. Understand that friends are not conditional, so any friends that doesn’t stick with me through rough times are no friends of mine. Friends that don’t listen but wait to talk, I will slowly weed out of my life. It’s time I stopped doing for others more than I do for myself. If I’m going to listen your problems, you’re going to listen to mine.

In life, most of us will never be content. Why not evaluate what’s keeping you from being happy, because life is a battle with yourself. The more that we possess, the more we become insatiable. It’s important to take a step back and appreciate what has been done. From now on, everyday, I’m going to make a list of what I’m thankful for and what I can enjoy that wouldn’t have been possible yesterday.

Things may not be moving as fast as we’d like, but today is always better than yesterday. Tomorrow can always be what you want it to be. It’s that simple, for your simple ass.

Leave a Reply

